Remember when waldorph was freaking about the middle schoolers reading her fic? How does it feel to be mentoring college freshmen?

I found fandom when I was about 10, 11 years old. Back then, most of the people who were online and in fandom were adults – they were the only ones who had internet access after all. I’m enormously, unspeakably grateful that I was surrounded by people who were gracious, mature, generous and thoughtful. They taught me how to be in a giving, creative community; they were my first beta readers; they wrote me kind emails congratulating me on good tries when I posted my (admittedly egregious) fanfiction. 

One of my most vivid memories of being young and on the internet is once asking a text-based X-Files spoiler mailing list about a song they used in the show, and someone volunteering, out of the blue, to FTP me the song. That’s the fandom full of adults that I grew up in when I was a middle schooler myself, and to whatever extent I can contribute, it’s the fandom I want middle schoolers now to grow up with, too. I felt safe here, and wanted and happy, and knew that these people had a bit more experience than me. I knew then I could read stories and learn things from them, and that if I had a question, it was probably safer to ask my internet friends than my peers or my teachers in my Southern educational systems, which tried hard but taught abstinence only.

So if you’re asking me does it bother me that tweens and teens are asking for advice, or does it bother me that tweens and teens are reading smut? No. I did the same fucking thing and I’ve never regretted it. 

0 Responses to “Remember when waldorph was freaking about the middle schoolers reading her fic? How does it feel to be mentoring college freshmen?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

abstract

East Coast Gazette has a terrible editorial focus and tends to use a lot of ALL CAPS but TOTALLY NOT BECAUSE OF HARRY POTTER. Stories in progress as well as snapshots will be listed in the "box full of snapshots" below, website archive for stories and assorted tomfoolery is glitterati.

recs (on del.icio.us)


